Tuesday, July 13, 2010

History: National Movemen

History: National Movement 

The post and telegraph system in India was introduced during the time of
(a) Lord Cornwallis
(b) Lord Canning
(c) Lord Hardinage
(d) Lord Dalhousie

Answer: Lord Dalhousie

The reform movement among the Muslims started by Sir Khan is known as ?? Movement.
(a) Khilafat
(b) Wahabi
(c) Aligarh
(d) Sufi

Answer: Aligarh

During whose Viceroyalty, Queen Victoria was crowned with Kaiser-i-Hind in Delhi Durbar ?
(a) Lytton
(b) Lord Minto
(c) Hastings
(d) Elgin

Answer: Lytton

The Communal Award which was later changed after Mahatma Gandhi's fast unto death in a jail at Poona, was given by
(a) Winston Churchill
(b) Stanley Baldwin
(c) Ramsay Macdonald
(d) Lloyd George

Answer: Ramsay Macdonald

The first Swarajist Conference was held at
(a) Madras
(b) Allahabad
(c) Bardoli
(d) Ahmedabad

Answer: Allahabad

Gandhiji started Satyagraha in 1919 in protest against
(a) Act of 1909
(b) Salt law
(c) Jallianwala Bagh massacre
(d) Rowlatt Act

Answer: Rowlatt Act

When the East India Company came into existence, England was ruled by the
(a) Hanovarians
(b) Tudors
(c) Normans
(d) Stuarts

Answer: Stuarts

Lord Mountbatten replaced?.as Viceroy of India in 1947.
(a) Lord Curzon
(b) Lord Linlithgow
(c) Lord Chelmsford
(d) Lord Wavell

Answer: Lord WavellWavell

Who presided over the Cabinet Mission ?
(a) A.V. Alexander
(b) Sir P. Lawrence
(c) Stafford Cripps
(d) Clement Attle

Answer: Sir P. Lawrence

The moderate and extremist sections of INC were reunited in the??? session
(a) 1920 Calcutta
(b) 1922 Karachi
(c) 1921 Bombay
(d) 1916 Lucknow

Answer: 1916 Lucknow

Who among the following attended all the Round Table Conferences ?
(a) Jawaharlal Nehru
(b) Madan Mohan Malaviya
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) B.R. Ambedkar

Answer: B.R. Ambedkar

The author of the book Hindu way of Life is
(a) Aurobindo Ghosh
(b) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
(c) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer: Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

The objective of the Cabinet Mission was
(a) None of these
(b) To help establish a Constituent Assembly to form the Constitution
(c) For partition of India
(d) To hand over power to Indians

Answer: To help establish a Constituent Assembly to form the Constitution

Which Act was the first legislative interference by the British Parliament in the affairs of India ?
(a) Fox's India Bill, 1783
(b) Pitt's India Act, 1784
(c) The Regulating Act, 1773
(d) The Declaratory Act, 1781

Answer: The Regulating Act, 1773

The last Governor General of India was
(a) C. Rajagopalachari
(b) Lord Mountbatten
(c) Lord Wavell
(d) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Answer: C. Rajagopalachari

The Congress ministries that had been formed in several provinces in 1937 resigned in November 1939 in protest against the
(a) British policy of repression
(b) Interference of the Viceroy and the Governors, in administration
(c) Participation of India in the Second World War, without consulting the Indian National Congress
(d) Refusal of the British government to grant independence to India

Answer; Participation of India in the Second World War, without consulting the Indian National Congress

Who was the pioneer among the following social reformers ?
(a) Raja Ram Mohan Roy
(b) Swami Vivekanand
(c) Dayanand Saraswati
(d) Ramakrishna Paramhansa

Answer: Raja Ram Mohan Roy

Wood's Despatch of 1854 resulted in the
(a) Introduction of postal system
(b) Establishment of educational system
(c) Abolition of child marriage
(d) Establishment of Indian universites

Answer: Establishment of educational system

Who once remarked, Nehru is a patriot while Jinnah is a politician.

(a) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(b) Mahatma Gandhi
(c) Sir Mohammad Iqbal
(d) Abdul Ghaffar Khan

Answer: Sir Mohammad Iqbal

When Mahatma Gandhi was assassinated, who said, None will believe that a man like this body and soul ever walked on this earth?
(a) Leo Tolstoy
(b) Bertrand Russel
(c) Jawaharlal Nehru
(d) Albert Einstein

Answer: Albert Einstein

Who initiated the greeting of Jai Hind ?
(a) Subhash Chandra Bose
(b) Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) B.G. Tilak

Answer: Subhash Chandra Bose

Satyagraha Sabha was formed by Mahatma Gandhi at
(a) Ahmedabad
(b) Bombay
(c) Poona
(d) Calcutta

Answer: Bombay

Which of the following enactments of British Parliament allowed Indian magistrates to try the cases of British nationals as well in India ?
(a) Bill of Rights
(b) Pitt's India Act
(c) Ilbert Bill
(d) Rowlatt Act

Answer: Ilbert Bill

Queen Victoria was appointed Empress of India in
(a) 1885
(b) 1877
(c) 1858
(d) 1876

Answer: 1877

The first Governor -General of India was appointed in
(a) 1911
(b) 1858
(c) 1774
(d) 1833

Answer: 1911

The Second Civil Disobedience Movement started with
(a) The adoption of a resolution declaring Poorna Swaraj as the objective of the Congress
(b) The failure of Cripps Mission
(c) Dandi march
(d) The passing of the Quit India Resolution

Answer: The failure of Cripps Mission

When did the Indian National Congress ask for the Dominion Status ?
(a) 1942
(b) 1947
(c) 1908
(d) 1929

Answer: 1908

The Cripps Mission visited India during the regime of
(a) Lord Wavell
(b) Lord Mountbatten
(c) Lord Wellington
(d) Lord Linlithgow

Answer: Lord Linlithgow

Who among the following was not the Viceroy of India during the 20th century ?
(a) Lord Minto
(b) Lord Dalhousie
(c) Lord Chelmsford
(d) Lord Irwin

Answer: Lord Minto

The slogan Inquilab Zindabad was given by
(a) Khudi Ram Bose
(b) Subhash Chandra Bosse
(c) Chandra Shekhar Azad
(d) Sardar Bhagat Singh

Answer: Sardar Bhagat Singh

Who was the Viceroy of India at the time of Quit India Movement ?
(a) Lord Mountbatten
(b) Lord Wellington
(c) Lord Wavell
(d) Lord Linlithgow

Answer: Lord Linlithgow

Bombay Samachar, the first newspaper started in Bombay, was a venture by the
(a) Parsees
(b) Sindhis
(c) Hindus
(d) Gujaratis

Answer: Parsees

Which of the folowing is correctly matched ?
(a) Non- Cooperation Movement : 1920
(b) Jallianwala Bagh Massacre : 1921
(c) Salt Satyagraha : 1929
(d) Surat split : 1905

Answer: Non- Cooperation Movement : 1920

The credit for forming an all India organisation of nationalist political workers goes to
(a) A.O. Hume
(b) W.C. Bonnerjee
(c) S.N. Banerjea
(d) Dadabhai Naoroji

Answer: A.O. Hume

Which reformer from Maharashtra was known as Lokhitavadi ?
(a) M.G. Ranade
(b) Gopal Hari Deshmukh
(c) Pandit Ramabai
(d) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

Answer: Gopal Hari Deshmukh

Who said : Bengal united is a power. Bengal divided will pull several different ways?.. ?
(a) Hardinge
(b) Risley
(c) Dufferin
(d) Curzon

Answer: Risley

Who among the following was not one of the founders of the Congress Socialist party set up in 1934 ?
(a) P.C. Joshi
(b) Acharya Narendra Dev
(c) Ashok Mehta
(d) Jaya Prakash Narayan

Answer: P.C. Joshi

The purpose of the Whitley Commission was
(a) To suggest measures to improve conditions of labourers
(b) None of these
(c) To look into the problem of minorities in India
(d) To enable political parties in India to reach a consensus on the constitutional question

Answer: To suggest measures to improve conditions of labourers

Identify the area where the Santhals proclaimed a government of their own in 1855-56 :
(a) Munger - Bhagalpur
(b) Gaya -Munger
(c) Bhagalpur-Rajmahal
(d) Shahabad- Gaya

Answer: Bhagalpur-Rajmahal